Week 9- Artist Conversation- Heather Hassenbein

IMG_1235

This week the gallery that caught my eye the most housed Heather Hassenbein’s installations, one of which was particularly interesting to me. I very much like the beach so I was excited to see a piece that captured it but in an unexpected way.

The forms she used to create the piece were unconventional and in a way I had never seen before. The gradation she uses is very nice considering the small space she had to work with. After an argument, me and my friend were able to determine that the piece was in fact, made out of clay, and not won ton wrappers, as he thought.

The artist states that she strives to create pieces with “beauty, nostalgia, and jubilation” as well as “retain an ethereal characteristic”. I think her use of line, color and form effectively work in her vision’s favor.

Leave a Reply

