Week 10- Artist Conversation- Haneul Park

IMG_1264

This art installation was the first that immediately caught my eye as I walked in the gallery, at first because the gallery was not lit and this piece was glowing. Upon first glance, I thought the figure was a baby fetus, but is actually a pig, as the title above it claims. Although strange, the piece is very eye-catching.

I think the artist’s use of lights in a dark space effectively captured the audience’s attention. The strangeness of the piece also serves to create intrigue, as well as speculation of the mediums used. If I had not read the artist’s description, I would have never guessed that the pig was made out of wax. Overall, it was fun to look at and to speculate about.

Leave a Reply

