Week 11- Activity- Student Choice

This week was student choice and for this activity I decided to do some embroidery. Lately I have become enamoured with it and figured that it was something that was easy to do, given that I already had the materials. I used an embroidery hoop, fabric, embroidery floss and a needle.

IMG_1321

The first thing I did was create a border around the circle. My goal is to embroider abstract patterns and shaped based on doodles that I draw for fun.

IMG_1346

Next I worked on the first set of shapes and patterns based on one of my drawings. Embroidery actually takes a long time and I’m sort of a perfectionist. As it is my first time dedicating a lot of time to a detailed work, I didn’t get to finish on time, also due to a busy week. I also ran out of the color black, which also added to my unfinished work. However, I am determined to finish the piece. I also decided to make embroideries for Christmas and started on one of my friend’s presents. Her favorite animal is a giraffe so I started on that and will finish that later as well.

IMG_1344

Leave a Reply

